And here it is….my first blog post!

Setting up my blog has been on my “to-do list” for months but something I just never got round to – no excuse I know.  If there was one thing I wanted out of my December/January break, apart from a tan, was my blog up and running.  So I can tick one thing off.

So I am writing this drinking a beer, yes I know beer – something I have been trying this holiday, with the most amazing blue skies and swimming pool as my view.  This holiday has given me a lot of time to reflect on the past year.  It was a tough year to say the least.  The last thing I thought I would be by the 31st of December 2011 is divorced, a single mom and living on my own.  I guess it is something that you think will never happen to you but sometimes shit happens and we need to deal with it.

But I cannot reflect on only the bad – 2011 had a few good highlights – I met the most amazing friends.  Mostly from Twitter.  Most people don’t think you can meet real friends online but they are wrong.  These friends have been the friends who have offered me unconditional support through the most difficult times.  It is amazing what a mere tweet or bbm can do to make you believe that you are not alone.

I have also developed a new relationship with my family.  Somewhere along the way I thought family wasn’t that important and although sometimes we wish we could choose our family we can’t and we need to appreciate them.  I was away from my brother, Derek, for a long time and we are finally doing what a young brother and sister is meant to be doing – having fun.

Finally I have regained my confidence as a mother.  I was made to believe that I was never a good mother.  There are certain things that don’t come naturally to me, as a mother and as a woman (I don’t do the domestication thing if you are wondering – I actually really suck at it) but I have had no choice but to look into myself and see what I am good at and make the most of it.

In short this is what this blog will be about.  My experience as a mid-20-something, now single mom who is going through a divorce.  How much I love sport – and how I need to learn to be domesticated.  How I adore my son – Cayleb and everything he does.  And how I want to make the most out of life and all it has to offer.

 This is my life….and everything in between.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “And here it is….my first blog post!

  1. phindi says:

    Hey gal! I’m absolutelty awed girl! Your story reads like a page out of my journal! I am here all the way, n this story is encouraging, I am here to walk with u in this journey! My Bubbles is almost 6months, and gives me so much strength to go on everyday, just as Cayleb does for u! And yes friendships can be formed thru twiter;)

  2. Sheldon says:

    Nice Sam J, well done! Looking forward to reading more 🙂

  3. Karen B says:

    Awesome Sam 🙂 can’t wait to read more of your articles on here! Looking forward to 2012!

  4. Bo says:

    I look forward to reading your posts! If I love your tweets (and tweetups), then this is gonna be great reading!

  5. Ingrid says:

    What’s up to every , because I am actually eager of reading this website’s post to
    be updated regularly. It contains good data.

  6. […] It has been two years since I started this blog.  A lot has changed since the 3rd of January when I posted my first blog post. […]

  7. […] published my first blog post on the 3rd of January 2012 and the blogging bug really hit after this. As it goes in my life (and I […]

Leave a Reply

